Loki

Loki

Good with Cats
Good with Dogs
Good with Kids
Housetrained
Shots Up to Date
Spayed/Neutered

Hi there! My name is Loki, Dog of Mischief. Foster mom says I can live up to that name. This makes it a little harder to find the right furever home.

I am a 4-year-old Hound/Pointer mix. Being 4 years old I am past the puppy phase. I am completely house broken, have some basic training, and don’t destroy things in the house. When foster mom is watching TV at night I tend to lay quietly or entertain myself. I do not need constant attention/play time.

I am on my second round of being fostered. I had gotten adopted by a very nice family. Unfortunately, I decided to start jumping their 6-foot fence on a regular basis and they were afraid I was going to get hurt. Foster mom does not let me outside unattended. She also keeps me on a 30-foot leash so that she has something to grab if I do decide to go over. I have only jumped Foster mom’s 4-foot fence once in the past 2 months. I will probably never be able to be left outside on my own, but with supervision I am able to enjoy my back yard.

I am very selective of my dog friends. Some dogs I do great with. Other times I will try and start fights with other dogs. I have resource guarding with other dogs (I have never shown any aggression towards people over food/toys). Sometimes I don’t have a reason to start a fight (although foster mom says I don’t seem to like beagles). I would do best as an only dog or with a female dog (I live with 2 females now and do great).

I am a hunting dog through and through. I will keep rabbits, squirrels, chipmunks, toads and anything else that moves out of your yard. I will catch bugs in the house for you. Because I am a hunter I cannot be in a house with any cats, small animals, or birds. Foster mom thinks I could benefit from having a job. She thinks I could do excel at dog sports with training. I love to use my nose, so maybe something that requires my sense of smell.

I love to go on adventures. Foster mom tries to take me for a daily walk. Usually we walk around the neighborhood, but sometimes she will take me to fun places to hike. I love car rides but get anxious/excited which makes me rather vocal in the car. I love to hang my head out the window when driving (Foster mom makes me wear a seatbelt so I can’t get out the window). I do pull on leash, so Foster mom uses either a gentle leader or easy walk harness to help with that.

I am a good boy, but I need someone that will understand my quirks. Foster mom says my family is out there somewhere, we just must be patient. I am loyal to my family. I am a watch dog and will bark if I hear something (occasionally foster mom says I bark a little too much, so an apartment may not be a good option for me). Are you willing to give me a shot? If you would like to meet this dog please call Annie at 815-685-0746. The adoption fee is $225.

Adoption fee includes:
- microchip
- free 30 days of pet insurance (requires activation)
- spay/neuter
- age appropriate vaccinations: Bordetella, DH(L)PP, rabies
- heartworm preventive & flea/tick preventive (when necessary)
- deworming